top of page
Elisabeth Leonskaja Franz Schubert (1797-1828)  Piano Music Three Piano Pieces D 946 Sonata D 664 Two Scherzos D 593 Allegretto D 915 Adagio D 612   MDG 943 1194-6  (SACD) Super Audio CD Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound

Franz Schubert

(1797-1828)


Three Piano Pieces D 946

Sonata D 664

Two Scherzos D 593

Allegretto D 915

Adagio D 612

Elisabeth Leonskaja

 

MDG 943 1194-6

(SACD)

Price: 21,99  €

2+2+2-logo_rec_pos_SW.tif

Liaison

Elisabeth Leonskaja made her debut MDG album with works by Franz Schubert. Now this highly acclaimed recording has been lovingly remixed and freshly remastered and is now finally available as a Super Audio CD in high resolution and in MDG's typical 3D audio format. This collaboration between the world-class pianist and the audiophile label presents the language of the sonata with compositions from Franz Schubert's piano oeuvre. The world of the Romantic piano unfolds with every note on the legendary Steinway D grand piano "Manfred Bürki" from 1901 creating a veritable bouquet of sounds.

 

Première

It was precisely the first piece from D 946, Allegro assai in E-flat minor, that established Schubert's position as a mediator between worlds: Schubert's music oscillates imperceptibly between the language of Beethoven and Chopin. This must certainly have fascinated his colleagues: None other than Johannes Brahms was the first to publish this work after the composer’s untimely death at the young age of 31.

"This is essential Schubert, pure and simple" (Gramophone)

 

"In Leonskaja's hands it seems like the quintessence of Schubert"

(International Record Review)

 

"The recorded sound on the present Dabringhaus und Grimm disc is marvellous, warm and yet detailed. Leonskaja is generous with her programme, too, just one second of eighty minutes… Highly recommended."

(MusicWeb)

Délicatesse

The Two Scherzos D 593 and the beautiful Adagio in E major D 612 also show that Schubert never wrote pièces d'occasion – he was driven by a deeper motivation even when they were composed for specific occasions. Their harmonic boldness and pianistic tenderness make them unique contemporary witnesses of musical culture.

 

Mérites

Elisabeth Leonskaja already caused a sensation when she began her studies as an 11-year-old at the Moscow Conservatory with Jacob Milstein. A prodigious career was to follow! Whilst still a student, she won prizes at international competitions in Bucharest, Paris and Brussels. Before she emigrated from the Soviet Union in 1978 and chose Vienna as her permanent residence, she played concerts as Sviatoslav Richter's duo partner. Today she can be heard as a soloist and chamber musician in concert halls all over the world.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)  Piano Music Three Piano Pieces D 946 Sonata D 664 Two Scherzos D 593 Allegretto D 915 Adagio D 612  Elisabeth Leonskaja  MDG 943 1194-6  (SACD) Super Audio CD Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound

Also recommended:

Elisabeth Leonskaja Brahms: Piano Works Piano Pieces Op. 116 - 119 MDG 943 1349-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
Elisabeth Leonskaja Chopin: Piano Works MDG 943 1558-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
Elisabeth Leonskaja Beethoven: Late Piano Sonatas Sonatas Op. 109 - 111 MDG 943 1622-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
bottom of page

top of page
Elisabeth Leonskaja Franz Schubert (1797-1828)  Piano Music Three Piano Pieces D 946 Sonata D 664 Two Scherzos D 593 Allegretto D 915 Adagio D 612   MDG 943 1194-6  (SACD) Super Audio CD Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound

ERSTMALIG ALS SACD


Franz Schubert

(1797-1828)


Drei Klavierstücke D 946

Sonata D 664

Zwei Scherzi D 593

Allegretto D 915

Adagio D 612

Elisabeth Leonskaja

 

MDG 943 1194-6

(SACD)

Preis: 21,99  €

 

2+2+2-logo_rec_pos_SW.tif

Liaison

Mit Franz Schubert bestritt Elisabeth Leonskaja ihr CD-Debüt bei MDG. Nun ist die hochgelobte Einspielung liebevoll abgemischt und frisch gemastert endlich auch als Super Audio CD erhältlich – selbstverständlich hoch aufgelöst und im MDG-typischen 3D-Audioformat. Die Weltklassepianistin und das audiophile Label präsentieren gemeinsam mit zentralen Kompositionen aus Franz Schuberts Klavierwerk nicht nur die edle Formsprache der Sonate, sondern auch die Welt des romantisch-freien Klavierstücks, dessen Klang-Bukett sich unter ihren Händen auf dem legendären Steinway (1901) entfaltet.

 

Première

Es ist gerade das erste Stück aus D 946, das Schuberts Stellung als Mittler zwischen den Welten zu untermauern vermag: Schuberts Musik schwankt unmerklich zwischen der Sprache Beethovens und Chopins. Das muss auch die Kollegen fasziniert haben: Kein Geringerer als Johannes Brahms schickte sich an, dieses Werk posthum als erster herauszugeben...

"Entfaltung des typisch Schubert’schen Klangzaubers. Zwingend und bezwingend. Es spielt aber auch der Raum mit, die Fürstliche Reitbahn Bad Arolsen, und es spielt der Klang des Steinway-Flügels mit – alles harmonisch und sich ergänzend und steigernd eingefangen: Natürlichkeit des Klangs ist hier Trumpf." - Klassik Heute

„Sie ist eine der wenigen Grandes Dames des Klavierspiels: Elisabeth Leonskaja. Und mit Schuberts Klavierwerken, die sie hier nun eingespielt hat, legt sie einen weiteren Beweis dafür vor, dass sie zu Recht zu den ganz Großen ihrer Zunft gezählt werden wird.“
- Piano News

„Sie geht die Musik mit einer Energie ohnegleichen an.“
- Pizzicato

„Highly recommended.“  - MusicWeb

Délicatesse

Auch die Zwei Scherzi oder das wunderschöne Adagio in E-Dur vermögen zu zeigen, dass Schubert grundsätzlich keine „Gelegenheitskompositionen“ schrieb – auch wenn sie zu bestimmten Gelegenheiten komponiert wurden. Ihre harmonischen Kühnheiten und pianistische Delikatesse machen sie zu einzigartigen Zeitzeugen der Musikkultur.

 

Mérites

Schon im Alter von 11 Jahren erregte Elisabeth Leonskaja als Pianistin Aufsehen und begann ihr Studium am Moskauer Konservatorium bei Jacob Milstein. Welche Karriere schloß sich an! Noch während des Studiums gewann sie Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben in Bukarest, Paris und Brüssel. Bevor sie 1978 aus der Sowjetunion auswanderte und Wien als ständigen Wohnsitz wählte, spielte sie Konzerte als Duopartnerin von Svjatoslav Richter. Heute ist sie als Solistin und Kammermusikerin in allen Konzertsälen der Welt zu hören.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)  Piano Music Three Piano Pieces D 946 Sonata D 664 Two Scherzos D 593 Allegretto D 915 Adagio D 612  Elisabeth Leonskaja  MDG 943 1194-6  (SACD) Super Audio CD Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound

Weitere Entdeckungen:

Elisabeth Leonskaja Brahms: Piano Works Piano Pieces Op. 116 - 119 MDG 943 1349-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
Elisabeth Leonskaja Chopin: Piano Works MDG 943 1558-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
Elisabeth Leonskaja Beethoven: Late Piano Sonatas Sonatas Op. 109 - 111 MDG 943 1622-6 Musikproduktion Dabringhaus und Grimm  Rare Repertoire . Outstanding Performances . Audiophile Sound
bottom of page