top of page

WORLD PREMIERE


Bernd Wilden
(*1966)


Sinfonia
Tryptique
Psalm 115

 

Marienkantorei Bielefeld

Bernd Wilden, Ruth M. Seiler

 

AUD 902 2303-6 

SACD

Price: 21,99 €

 

powerful

This collection of Bernd Wilden's sacred works is a great testament to the music of our time. His music draws its archaic power from Gregorian chant, which he moulds with dramatic flair and an acute eye for tone colour. Immediately moving and transcendental in its grandiose climaxes, this is authentic music "on par with Richard Strauss and Igor Stravinsky", as one critic observed.


resonant

Sinfonia for Organ and Orchestra fuses medieval plain-song with minimalist techniques, giving rise to colourful, pulsating and constantly changing soundscapes where the Gregorian melody is fleetingly echoed again and again. After a lively scherzo, the three-movement work ends with a grand apotheosis, beautifully emphasised by the rich tones of the Eule organ in the magnificent acoustics of Neustädter Marienkirche, where the world premiere performance took place.

spiritual

Wilden himself plays the organ in Tryptique, based on hymns and sequences for Easter, Pentecost and Advent. The composer envelops the premonition of Christmas in an almost mystical sound; the joy of Easter breaks out in thrilling dance rhythms and the heavenly roar of the miracle of Pentecost is literally palpable.

 

sensational

Bernd Wilden’s setting of the 115th psalm is an impressive example of sacred contemporary music, a work that succeeds in reaching out to people without pandering to the whims of popular music. The commissioned work for the 800th anniversary of the city of Bielefeld combines a testimony of faith and a prayer of blessing. The final hallelujah is a brilliant arc presented by the choir, organ and orchestra in impressive colours. Whether in stereo or in 2+2+2 multi-channel reproduction, a sublime listening experience unfolds.

"Solide, unprätentiöse Kirchenmusik. Kultivierte Darbietungen. Die für MDG übliche ausgezeichnete Klangqualität rundet eine schöne Produktion ab."
- Klassik Heute

Also recommended:

bottom of page

top of page

WELT ERSTEINSPIELUNG
 

Bernd Wilden
(*1966)


Werke für Orgel, Chor und Orchester

 

Marienkantorei Bielefeld,

Bernd Wilden,
Ruth M. Seiler

AUD 902 2303-6 

SACD

Preis: 21,99 €

 

Erhältlich ab 9. Februar
 

kraftvoll

Bernd Wildens Musik schöpft ihre archaische Kraft aus dem gregorianischen Choral, den er mit untrüglichem Gespür für Dramatik und feinem Klangsinn zu einer zeitgenössischen Musik formt, die unmittelbar berührt und in den grandiosen Steigerungen schier überwältigt. Ruth Seiler hat mit vereinten Bielefelder Chören und der Camerata St. Mariae zentrale Werke Wildens aufgeführt und eingespielt – ein großes Dokument für Musik unserer Zeit.

 

reichhaltig

Dunkel und geheimnisvoll beginnt die Sinfonia für Orgel und Orchester, bei der die Eule-Orgel in der Neustädter Marienkirche, dem Ort der Uraufführung, immer wieder mit dem farbigen Orchesterklang verschmilzt und sich nur dann und wann mit romantischen Tönen zu gelegentlichen solistischen Passagen heraushebt. Das dreisätzige Werk endet nach quirligem Scherzo mit einer grandiosen Apotheose, die in der reichen Akustik aufs schönste zur Geltung kommt.

fröhlich

Wilden selbst spielt die Orgel für sein „Tryptique“, das sich auf Hymnen und Sequenzen zu Ostern, Pfingsten und Advent bezieht. Die weihnachtliche Vorahnung kleidet Wilden in ein geradezu mystisches Klanggewand; in packenden Tanzrhythmen bricht sich die österliche Freude Bahn, und das himmlische Brausen des Pfingstwunders ist buchstäblich mit Händen zu greifen.

 

spannend

Ganz aus dem Text heraus ist Wildens Vertonung des 115. Psalms komponiert. Das Auftragswerk zum 800jährigen Stadtjubiläum Bielefelds verbindet Glaubenszeugnis und Segensbitte; bis zum abschließenden Halleluja spannt sich ein fulminanter Bogen, den Chor, Orgel und Orchester in beeindruckender Farbigkeit präsentieren. Schon in Stereo ein Genuss, entfaltet sich in der 2+2+2-Mehrkanalwiedergabe ein großartiges Hörerlebnis.

Weitere Entdeckungen:

bottom of page