top of page
MDG_Cover_9212311-6_Vorobjova_Bach_3000p.jpg

Available from 8th March
 

Johann Sebastian Bach

(1685 – 1750)

 

…con passione

Tatjana Vorobjova, harpsichord

 

MDG 921 2311-6

SACD

Price: 21,99 €

 

passion

In her latest album, Tatjana Vorobjova focuses entirely on emotion. Expressed in richness of sound, dynamics and refined nuance, the highly acclaimed Latvian harpsichordist explores expanding the instrument's expressive possibilities and shows how well this can be achieved with the grand master of counterpoint in a touchingly personal selection of Bach’s highly expressive works.

 

ardour

Expressive cantabile harpsichord playing is at the forefront of Vorobjova’s interpretations. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue contains virtuoso passage work and complex chord chains that seem to go beyond the scope of the instrument. She knows just how to increase the intensity from bar to bar! The instrumental recitative at its heart addresses us directly and tempts our imaginations – is it perhaps Bach lamenting the death of Maria Barbara, his first wife?

fervour

The harpsichord served as an anchor to Bach’s entire life and career. It was the instrument, alongside the clavichord, at which he composed. Suite BWV 823 is in F minor, the key Bach reserved for particularly expressive music. Surprising harmonies over chromatic basses and ostinato rhythms intensify the expression.

rousing

Partita in E minor BWV 830 is another work of great expressive depth, with Air and Tempo di Gavotta complementing the regular succession of movements. Vorobjova crowns her personal exploration of the emotional Bach with the richly ornamented Adagio BWV 564 originally for organ, which she transcribed herself for her full-toned two-manual harpsichord (after Rückers) - a convincing conclusion to an all-round captivating programme!

"...Vorobjova's effortless technique and sense of playfulness make for a captivating hour of listening. She employs a subtle rubato tempo that emphasises the lyricism of the music and creates the illusion of dynamic variation." (Fanfare)

MDG_Inlaycard_9212311-6_Vorobjova_Bach_E.jpg

Also recommended:

bottom of page

top of page
MDG_Cover_9212311-6_Vorobjova_Bach_3000p.jpg

Erhältlich ab 8. März
 

Johann Sebastian Bach

(1685 – 1750)

 

…con passione

 

Tatjana Vorobjova, Cembalo

 

 

 

MDG 921 2311-6

SACD

Preis: 21,99 €

 

mit Lust

Bach, und das mit Leidenschaft – Tatjana Vorobjova setzt in ihrem neuesten Album ganz auf Emotion. Wie gut das beim Großmeister des Kontrapunkts gelingen kann, zeigt die lettische Cembalistin auf ihrem volltönenden zweimanualigen Cembalo (nach Rückers) in einer berührend-persönlichen Auswahl überaus expressiver Werke, die nahtlos an die hochgelobten Einspielungen von Krieger und Scarlatti anknüpfen kann.

 

mit Feuer

Die „Chromatische Fantasie und Fuge“ darf da natürlich nicht fehlen. Virtuoses Passagenwerk und komplexe Akkordketten scheinen den Rahmen des Cembalos zu sprengen; das zentrale Rezitativ – eine Klage über den Tod von Maria Barbara, Bachs erster Ehefrau - verführt die Fantasie zum Schweben. Bewundernswert, wie Vorobjova die Intensität von Takt zu Takt zu steigern versteht!

mit Sinn

Die Suite BWV 823 lässt schon mit der Tonart f-Moll aufhorchen, überraschende Harmonik über chromatischen Bässen und ostinate Rhythmen verstärken den Ausdruck. Das Werk ist nur in drei Sätzen überliefert – Fragment oder absichtsvolles Konzept?

mit Begeisterung

Die Partiten in a-Moll und e-Moll halten sich ebenfalls nicht an die klassische Satzfolge der Suite; Burlesca und Air ergänzen auf jeweils ganz eigene Weise den erwarteten Ablauf. Ihre persönliche Auseinandersetzung mit dem emotionalen Bach krönt Vorobjova mit einer eigenen Übertragung des Adagios aus BWV 564 von der Orgel aufs Cembalo – ein überzeugender Abschluss eines rundum hinreißenden Programms!

„... Vorobjovas mühelose Technik und ihr Sinn für Spielfreude sorgen für eine fesselnde Stunde des Zuhörens. Sie setzt ein subtiles Rubato-Tempo ein, das die Lyrik der Musik unterstreicht und die Illusion dynamischer Variationen erzeugt. Ein großartiges neues Scarlatti-Recital, das die poetische Natur der Scarlatti-Sonaten zelebriert..." (Peter Burwasser in Fanfare)

MDG_Inlaycard_9212311-6_Vorobjova_Bach_E.jpg

Auch empfohlen:

bottom of page